New Board Elected For SouthGrow: B93.3 FM : Lethbridge's #1 Hit Music Station : Lethbridge News, Alberta
B93 FM Lethbridge

Home /Local News Feed /
New Board Elected For SouthGrow

Lethbridge: SouthGrow Regional Initiative held a General Meeting January 12, 2011 and elected a new Management Board.

The new Board, voted in by elected officials and community representatives are:

Councillor Roger Houghton - Cardston County
Mayor Kym Nichols - Village of Carmangay
Councillor Don Wentz - Town of Coaldale
Deputy Mayor Ron Lagemaat - Town of Coalhurst
Councillor Daryl Sutter - Town of Claresholm
Mayor Rajko Dodic - City of Lethbridge
Councillor Dannie Lien - Village of Warner
Jon Stevens - Town of Picture Butte
Sandra Nelson - Village of Stirling
Rob Crow - Blood Tribe Council

   Prior to the elections, members approved the organization's revised Articles of Association. Following the elections, SouthGrow Regional Initiative held its fourth annual Recognition Event. In addition to recognizing the efforts of the volunteers who serve on SouthGrow's three committees (Marketing & Communications, Strategic Collaboration and Economic Development Innovation), SouthGrow recognized the members of the original Steering Committee that were responsible for SouthGrow's inception: Duane Barrus, Dave Duggan, Linda Erickson, Emma Hulit, Lenz Kuiper, Lorna Kurio, Therese Munroe, Jon Stevens, Bob Tarleck, and Hank Van Beers.

The audience of 150 also received a brief update on SouthGrow's projects including SouthGrowN Productivity Publication, Water for Economic Development, Southern Alberta Alternative Energy Partnership (SAAEP), and the Alberta Productivity & Competitiveness Conference in March. Attendees were also invited to "13 Ways to Kill a Community" presented in partnership with Lethbridge Exhibition on February 11, 2011 by Doug Griffiths.

Chair Sandra Nelson notes that "SouthGrow has accomplished so much since its inception. It is wonderful to be able to recognize the dedicated individuals that helped to shape SouthGrow back in 2003. And, moving forward, I am happy to welcome the new members of the Board. We will continue, with the support of our twenty-seven member communities, to respond to the concerns of the region and be proactive as this region progresses, grows and diversifies".

For more information, contact:

Sandra Nelson, Chair,Elvira Smid, Director, South Central
SouthGrow Regional Initiative Alberta Finance and Enterprise
Phone: 403-394-0615 Phone: 403-381-5414
Email:  Email:

Posted on Friday, January 21, 2011 at 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Source: SouthGrow Media Release
Latest News Articles

Local Producers Bring Home Canadian Cheese Awards
Friday, January 21, 2011 : 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Heart Patients Have Access To Life Saving Device
Friday, January 21, 2011 : 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Another Strong Spring for Soil Moisture Levels in Southern Alberta
Friday, January 21, 2011 : 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Lethbridge College Offers New Communication Program
Friday, January 21, 2011 : 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Unique Software Program Wins Master's Students Innovation Category at Microsoft's Imagine Cup Canada
Friday, January 21, 2011 : 4/18/2014 3:14:14 PM
Home /Country 95.5 FM News



B93.3 FM
Home Promotions
Station Blogs
On Air Events
Other Links
Contact Us Alberta Equity Scholarship Program
Legal Notice Advertise with B93.3 FM
Privacy Policy  
Connect with B93.3 FM